UFC 178 Results – Winners & Highlights

Event: UFC 178: Johnson vs. Cariaso
Date: Sat., Sep. 27, 2014
Venue: MGM Grand Garden Arena
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Total Fights: 11

UFC 178 featured a fight card with numerous finishes, with a main event showdown between Demetrious Johnson and Chris Cariaso. UFC 178 happend on Saturday, September 27, 2014. The main card kicked off at 3:00 PM ET and didn’t wrap up until around 5:00 PM ET. This event had 11 fights. In the co-main event, Demetrious Johnson defeated Chris Cariaso via Submission (Kimura) in round 2.

UFC 178 results

Starting from the first fight ending with the main event. Here is a full list of results from UFC 178. Be sure to check out UFC 178 bonuses and payouts.

Manny Gamburyan def. Cody Gibson via Submission (Guillotine Choke) – Round 2, 4:56
Kevin Lee def. Jon Tuck via Decision (Unanimous) – Round 3, 5:00
Brian Ebersole def. John Howard via Decision (Split) – Round 3, 5:00
Stephen Thompson def. Patrick Cote via Decision (Unanimous) – Round 3, 5:00
Jorge Masvidal def. James Krause via Decision (Unanimous) – Round 3, 5:00
Dominick Cruz def. Takeya Mizugaki via KO (Punches) – Round 1, 1:01
Cat Zingano def. Amanda Nunes via TKO (Elbows and Punches) – Round 3, 1:21
Yoel Romero def. Tim Kennedy via TKO (Punches) – Round 3, 0:58
Conor McGregor def. Dustin Poirier via TKO (Punches) – Round 1, 1:46
Donald Cerrone def. Eddie Alvarez via Decision (Unanimous) – Round 3, 5:00
Demetrious Johnson def. Chris Cariaso via Submission (Kimura) – Round 2, 2:29

‘Johnson vs. Cariaso’ complete results

Manny Gamburyan vs. Cody Gibson
Manny Gamburyan defeated Cody Gibson by Submission (Guillotine Choke) at 4:56 in round 2.

Kevin Lee vs. Jon Tuck
Kevin Lee pulled out a win against Jon Tuck in round 3 by Decision (Unanimous).

Brian Ebersole vs. John Howard
Brian Ebersole bested John Howard in round 3 at Decision (Split).

Stephen Thompson vs. Patrick Cote
Stephen Thompson got the victory over Patrick Cote by Decision (Unanimous) in round 3 at 5:00.

Jorge Masvidal vs. James Krause
The fifth bout ended at 5:00 of round 3 with Jorge Masvidal defeating James Krause by Decision (Unanimous).

Dominick Cruz vs. Takeya Mizugaki
Takeya Mizugaki lost to Dominick Cruz at 1:01 of round 1 via 1.

Cat Zingano vs. Amanda Nunes
Cat Zingano got the better of Amanda Nunes and won by TKO (Elbows and Punches) in round 3 at 1:21.

Yoel Romero vs. Tim Kennedy
Yoel Romero beat Tim Kennedy by TKO (Punches) at 0:58 of round 3.

Conor McGregor vs. Dustin Poirier
Conor McGregor won in round 1 at 1:46 by TKO (Punches); John McCarthy was the third man in the Octagon.

Donald Cerrone vs. Eddie Alvarez
The night’s co-main event ended at 5:00 of round 3 with Donald Cerrone defeating Eddie Alvarez by Decision (Unanimous).

Demetrious Johnson vs. Chris Cariaso
In the main event, Demetrious Johnson defeated Chris Cariaso by Submission (Kimura) in round 2.

We use publicly available information from sources such as MMAscene and ESPN to make sure that our information is accurate. Don't miss all the upcoming UFC events.

Help us keep our pages up to date, please let us know let us know if we made a mistake.

MMA News & Rumors